Limitless motor and esc selection

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

andrew99s

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Limitless
I am new to the arrma platform and recently got a limitless. I am trying to figure out what motor I want to run. I would like to make it capable of 8s and high speeds but I also want to be able to bash it and not worry too much about temps running 6s. I was thinking a max 5 esc and a tp 5660 1170kv but I don’t know much about selecting electronics any help would be great.

i would do the castle mamba monster x 8s combo with the 1717 1650kv motor
the max 5 will not fit the factory esc location.
1170kv is pretty low and will require a gigantic pinion gear to get the speed back, plus a 56 can motor will require a different motor mount
i ran the max6 in mine which was a perfect fit, but i swapped it out for the mmx8s because i was reaching the limit of the max6
i also run the hobbywing 4985 1650kv motor, which is great, but is now going into my mojave and being replaced with a tp4050

i would do the castle mamba monster x 8s combo with the 1717 1650kv motor
the max 5 will not fit the factory esc location.
1170kv is pretty low and will require a gigantic pinion gear to get the speed back, plus a 56 can motor will require a different motor mount
i ran the max6 in mine which was a perfect fit, but i swapped it out for the mmx8s because i was reaching the limit of the max6
i also run the hobbywing 4985 1650kv motor, which is great, but is now going into my mojave and being replaced with a tp4050
I ended up getting a tp 4070 2250kv and I’m going to pair it with the mmx8

I ended up getting a tp 4070 2250kv and I’m going to pair it with the mmx8
Great combo but watch your gearing when you get to bashing. There is no such thing as a gear ratio good for speed and bashing. Heat will always be a factor.