Register and gain access to Discussions, Reviews, Tech Tips, How to Articles, and much more - on the largest Arrma RC community for RC enthusiasts that covers all aspects of the Arrma-RC brand!

Register Today It's free! This box will disappear once registered!

What is your battery set up for your kraton

Discussion in 'Kraton' started by Kratonage, Feb 17, 2016.

  1. Vanning

    Vanning Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Messages:
    1,023
    Likes Received:
    452
    Arrma RC's:
    Kraton
    Does your charger show the internal resistance of the cells in that pack ? I'm curious to know what you may be reading on that battery. Mines still new and I'll be looking at it closer now to see if it's decent or not. It's too new to tell....I like to get a few cycles in first. Also....do you run off your Lipo alarm to tell you when to shut down...or do you just stop when the ESC hits the low voltage cut off ? Most ESC's will ignore voltage sags that are brief and just keep going. Most of the long time RCers will notice a slow down with a bad cell. What voltage do you use for low....I normally use 3.2 to 3.4 volts. Thanks much.

    I got the ESC you are using on my list of things to purchase.....looks real nice. I like it more than the Tekin also. I like looking at data as much as driving so that's on my radar. I'm trying to move up in technology also...I want to use my smart phone with the ESC. Seems much more awesome...how do you like the ESC ? Can you post a screen shot of what you see on your phone. Thanks again.
     
    #21 Vanning, Nov 3, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2016
  2. Kauaiguy

    Kauaiguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    148
    Location:
    Kauai
    Arrma RC's:
    Kraton
    The Hobbywing Max8 doesn't do data logging.I have it set to nmh setting for 5s,so no low voltage alarm.I set my battery alarm to 3.6.At that setting i put back in 4700mah for the pack.If i have punch set to 4 it will scream at every hit of the throttle.I think the stock esc has its software set rather tame on punch to keep most Kratons running longer!Haven't checked ir yet but it does go uneven if you let it sit for a day with a charge on it!
     
  3. Vanning

    Vanning Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Messages:
    1,023
    Likes Received:
    452
    Arrma RC's:
    Kraton
    I'll keep an eye on mine....thanks man.

    I often see voltage sags on my data logger that dip below my low voltage cut off. Sometimes I'll see them more on some packs or a brand new one for some reason. The ESC probably averages it all and ignores it, I never toasted an ESC or battery. ....however, a voltage sag will trigger a lipo alarm set at 3.6 real easy I would think.... I'll have to try that....sounds like you could run a pack longer with the alarm. IDK, I have never tried one. They are cheap enough to get. A real good low resistance pack, good clean connectors, short wires, and good solder helps also. Not all Lipos are that good...I always check ripple voltage and add a few extra caps just for the heck of it. Cool....I'm trying a Lipo alarm also.
     
    #23 Vanning, Nov 3, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2016
  4. Wippersnapper1992

    Wippersnapper1992 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Arrma RC's:
    Kraton
    Hi mate, wondering how the lipo held out for you? Have you had any problems with it? Very close to pulling the trigger and buying it just can't find any reviews?
    Many thanks
     
  5. stewdogg

    stewdogg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Arrma RC's:
    Kraton, Senton
    I run one of those batteries in my Arrma/Tekno stuff, I like it a lot and it has been holding up great for the last season of bashing. I have heard a bunch of others have good luck with them as well... PULL THE TRIGGER!!:)
     
  6. Rcnerd

    Rcnerd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Mahopac ny
    Arrma RC's:
    Kraton, Talion
  7. RCpete

    RCpete Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Arrma RC's:
    Talion
    I have a v1 Talion and run a Hobbywing Quicrun 150amp esc with the 42/74 hobbywing 2000kv motor, it has a 19tooth pinion and runs only 4s 5000mah 30c/50c Overlander supersport lipos. Have to say these lipos are over 3 years old and still balance perfectly every time, brilliant. I am going to invest in some new lipos this christmas tho.
     
Verification:
Loading...
Draft saved Draft deleted
  • Welcome to Arrma Forum

    Arrma Forum is a Arrma RC fan site that was started to give Arrma RC enthusiasts a place to come together and discuss and share their experiences with the entire Arrma-RC product line, such as the Arrma Kraton, Arrma Talion, and Arrma Granite.

    We welcome all Arrma RC enthusiasts, both new and old, racers and bashers that share a common goal - a willingness to help and learn.
  • Disclaimer