Is this failure common?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Blucross

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Fury
Hey all, great community, glad to have found it. I've been in RC a long time, but this is my first time at it with cars. I started my foray into surface vehicles with a Outcast and a Typhon, I fell in love instantly with the brand.

Today I was running the Typhon and smacked the rear right wheel flat against a curb at around 35pmh. The attached picture shows the screw pulling out of the rear diff housing as the aluminum bracket was bent and took it with it. The threading stripped out completely.

I'm just wondering if I should prepare to do this often, or if I am better off plunking down the money for a HR gearbox case and being done with it. I have been loving these vehicles otherwise, and I am enjoying wrenching on them as well!

Thanks!

Attachments

• 20170920_001923.jpg
    20170920_001923.jpg
    203.9 KB · Views: 97
I just did something similar to my kraton just yesterday lol. But I snapped that metal thing and the diff housing lol. The back wheel was just hanging there lol. Good times drifting around after a rain storm.

I just did something similar to my kraton just yesterday lol. But I snapped that metal thing and the diff housing lol. The back wheel was just hanging there lol. Good times drifting around after a rain storm.

Ok, good to know that these parts are a weak point and that I am not alone. I'm concerned that it might happen frequently, enough to warrant the HR gearbox case anyway.

I can agree, regardless of the downtime, they are good times!

I'm not 100% sure about it being a weak point cuz I've jumped and tumbled it good and only have bent a shock shaft. But slamming into a curb at 30+ something is bound to break lol. You could be right as I only own one Arrma 1/8 scale rc.

Fair point, at speed, hitting a concrete immovable object, everything is a weak point! Well put.