Had a lipo fire in the house. Sharing my experience for others to learn from

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Thanks again to everyone for the input on this thread; as I mentioned earlier, I'm new to RC and lipo's, and soaking up a lot of info here. Although this post is mostly about safety while charging, without hijacking the thread can I ask about how I should be storing my lipos? I know to bring them to a storage charge first, but I now have 6 2s and 3s 5200mah lipos, all sitting in a lipo bag, in an ammo can with the seal removed to avoid building up pressure. I know that won't stop the soot and smoke. I do plan to buy a bat box after reading this thread, but it seems like 6x5200mah batteries being stored in a bat box might be too much for it if they were to go up in flames while being stored, so I would use it only when charging, or to store just 2 batteries at a time I guess? Other than purchasing multiple ammo boxes (or lipo bags) and splitting batteries up in them, is there a better option for me to store them in when not using?

First of all, my family is safe and thanks to my wife for noticing the sounds of popping in the garage which was the lipo cells bursting.

I was in the garage doing some maintenance on my K6S and charging lipos at the same time. I finished charging some 3s lipos then I plugged in two 6s lipos to begin charging. Both 6s batteries were at storage charge (3.8v).

25min had passed and I was still in the garage working on my rig. I checked the lipos to see where the voltages were. 1 lipo was around 4.13v for each cell (seemed normal to me) and the other lipo was around at 3.85v for each cell (this should have been the warning sign) I thought “huh, that’s charging slow” and continued the lipo to charge.