Kraton Exb diff new gears problem

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RyanC1332

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Kraton EXB
  2. Mojave
So I’m not good at searching on here but if you replace the planetary gear and sun gear are they suppose to be Grindy feeling? I had it all together with new diff oil got it all screwed back together and it was very tight feeling and when it did move it felt like the teeth were grinding a lot

Mine did the same thing and if I remember correctly I took it apart and found it wasn't all meshed up inside like it was supposed to be even though it went together correctly

Man I took mine apart, inspected, out back together so many times before I got it right and it didn't have the gritty feeling to it

This thing is pissing me off so it seems to be smooth but once I tighten the screws down it like gets stuck

I’m wondering if this one shim is messed up the other one on the bottom side doesn’t seem to have that little bow in it

image.jpg

I remember now, the bottom gear wasn't completely down like it's supposed to be which allowed the 4 above it on the sides to be up and not seated down correctly. But when you looked at it, it all seemed right. It went together correctly and all but made it gritty feeling once bolted together. I re-seated all of them and they dropped further down than they were the previous times, then once bolted together it was smooth as butter

I can’t figure it out everything sits fine but that one shim and going in a pattern with the screws it stays nice and smooth till once it’s actually hand tight then it completely locks up and I can’t rotate it

I know the 4 side gears and the plates on the back of them have to be a certain way, there was a youtube video I found on them that helped me out tremendously

I’ve got that thick spacer so it’s a open diff but the picture I sent is the bigger flat shim it seems like it’s cracked compared to the other sides