Granite BLX 3s 4x4 tire upgrade ?'s

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

raymi24

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Granite
Hi All,
New to the RC world and I just picked up a new Granite BLX 3s 4x4 and I am looking to swap out tires/wheels for the snow. I know this has 14mm hex and there are not many options for that size so I am thinking of doing the 12mm conversion. I know there is a 17mm conversion also but that would mean the wheel/tire size would be going up to 3.8 which I believe I would have to re gear for ? My next question is do I have to worry about wheel offset or will any 12mm hex 2.8 wheel/tire combo work ? The reason I ask is because some of them I see say "for rear".
Any suggestions on tires for the snow for this truck ?
Any input is greatly appreciated and I appologize for all the question but I am new to this whole thing. Thanks

Thank you very much for those. Informative and I guess I could go 17mm

check this video..

I’ve seen those videos a few times but this time I noticed that’s @Rich Duperbash ’s Granite didn’t have the centerdriveshaft bearing (the one that constrains the shaft from whipping). Rich, did you have it removed or did it not come with one?

My Granite BLX 3s doesn't have the centershaft bearing either. That only comes on the Senton platform I believe. My guess is Arrma didn't think the Granite needed a center bearing since it was so short, the Senton is longer.

For snow your best bet will always be paddle tires. Not sure what wheels you should use though as I am not sure what the offset is on the Granite. But these are Proline Sandpaws https://www.ebay.com/itm/Pro-Line-S...55de495:g:8r4AAOSw~R1bOUIB:rk:1:pf:0&LH_BIN=1

I would think it runs around the same offset as the Stampede 4x4 so if converting to 12mm hex these should work https://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-Traxxa...956472f:g:ArAAAOSwBNdbrAml:rk:4:pf:0&LH_BIN=1