Raider What should I upgrade now to avoid problems later?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MNRaider

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Raider
I'm new to the RC world and to this forum. I got a Raider BLX last week and am loving it so far, however I already broke the left front lower control arm and that caused the shock body to pull out of the cap. I ordered RPM control arm set, I'm wondering what my other first upgrades should be? I also ordered a set of short course truck tires too, the stock tires had zero traction at my local track, tried my friend's sc tires and it made a world of difference!

I'm thinking of ordering STRC shock bodies & caps and I am going to replace the rear ball studs with longer ones and a nut (had one of them pull out three times at the track).

Those plastic caps are definitely an issue (and a mess when they pop off). I have a bunch of STRC parts and they are well made. Haven't done the shocks yet, but they're on the list!

I also changed the nonadjustable plastic tie rods to the steel with rod ends. It tightens up the front end steering quite a bit.

consider using Traxxas 3760 and 3762 shocks. direct fit and there are plenty of full aluminum racing options. Otherwise you can modify the shocks just like i have which has only cost me $8

I stuck some aquarium air tubing, the stiff clear kind, in each wheel axle cup. Leave the diff cups alone. I cut 3-4mm pieces.

I tried fuel tubing. It gives too much. The stiffer you can find the better. I stumbled across the aquarium tubing while buying dog food at walmart :p Works perfectly.

Funny thing is i have that same aquarium tubing. I used it to protect my antennas for my fpv drones haha. Thanks man