Granite Granite Mega 4x4 Brushless Conversion

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dustygibs

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Granite
Has anyone tried installing a blx85 ESC paired with the blx3656 3800kv motor in a Granite Mega 4x4? Looking for recommendations for mild brushless system. I was thinking of a 3800kv with a 17T pinion using 2s 5200 mah 30c battery. Any thoughts? Thank you in advance as I’m still new to the RC hobby.

That's what I run. It drops in like it was made for it ;)

01041813413.jpg

Great! That’s exactly what I was looking for hoping for. Any performance issues?

Rather than saying its a performance problem, it's more like a durability issue. It can handle 2S no problem, but 3S can break the rear input gear. I ripped 2 of them. They're coming out with a heavy duty gear later this month, but if it's junk I'll just mod my own.

I have recently been researching brushless systems and discovered the importance of matched amperage ratings. May want to consider higher C ratings when purchasing Lipo batteries. Esp with brushless set ups that demand more amperage to perform. Will help to prevent your batteries from puffing. There are a lot of good write ups and forum posts on the topic. Its worth some time on Google when buying batteries!

Last edited:
Hoping for some sun this weekend to test and tune this set up. Starting super conservative with the punch turned way down and the top limited to 70% to start. Staying on 2s.

Sidewinder SCT stock pinion.

I’ll report back how it does.
8D75D507-3D72-4B44-B3CD-8128CEC7BF87.jpeg

how many KVA is the castle motor? I see the new Sidewinder SCT ESC has a fan, wish my older model had a fan.
3800kv 4 pole Sensored but the esc isn't sensor compatible. The motor is the real value in that combo. They offer a 5mm shaft and 3.17mm (1/8th) shaft. Running a gensacearespammers 50c battery