Register and gain access to Discussions, Reviews, Tech Tips, How to Articles, and much more - on the largest Arrma RC community for RC enthusiasts that covers all aspects of the Arrma-RC brand!

Register Today It's free! This box will disappear once registered!

Granite Mega 4x4 Brushless Conversion

Discussion in 'Mega 4x4' started by dustygibs, Jan 4, 2018.

1. dustygibs

dustygibs Active Member

Arrma RC's:
    Granite
    Has anyone tried installing a blx85 ESC paired with the blx3656 3800kv motor in a Granite Mega 4x4? Looking for recommendations for mild brushless system. I was thinking of a 3800kv with a 17T pinion using 2s 5200 mah 30c battery. Any thoughts? Thank you in advance as I’m still new to the RC hobby.

Nosedive4130 likes this.
  2. Megasty

Megasty Well-Known Member

Arrma RC's:
    Granite, Kraton, Nero, Outcast, Raider, Senton, Talion, Typhon, 4x4-Mega
    That's what I run. It drops in like it was made for it ;)

01041813413.jpg

Leyland and Nosedive4130 like this.
  3. dustygibs

dustygibs Active Member

Arrma RC's:
    Granite
    Great! That’s exactly what I was looking for hoping for. Any performance issues?

4. Megasty

Arrma RC's:
    Rather than saying its a performance problem, it's more like a durability issue. It can handle 2S no problem, but 3S can break the rear input gear. I ripped 2 of them. They're coming out with a heavy duty gear later this month, but if it's junk I'll just mod my own.

5. Leyland

Leyland Active Member

Arrma RC's:
    4x4-Mega
    I have recently been researching brushless systems and discovered the importance of matched amperage ratings. May want to consider higher C ratings when purchasing Lipo batteries. Esp with brushless set ups that demand more amperage to perform. Will help to prevent your batteries from puffing. There are a lot of good write ups and forum posts on the topic. Its worth some time on Google when buying batteries!

#5 Leyland, Jan 11, 2018
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2018
  6. BlurTheLines